Codex Alexandrinus


Codex Alexandrinus (A, 02, d 4)


5th Century CE.


Written on vellum, 32.1 cm. x 26.4 cm. There are two columns and 46-52 lines to the column. The ink is brown.


It has both the Old and New Testaments. The New Testament contains Four Gospels, Acts, Catholic Epistles and Pauline Epistles (including Hebrews), Apocalypse, and I and II Clement.

Total number of leaves are 773, out of which 143 belong to the New Testament.

The text is Byzantine in the Gospels and Alexandrian in the Pauline Epistles.


The words are written continuously without separation. Accents are absent and breathing are rare. The Old Testament quotations are indicated.

It is believed that the codex is the work of five scribes, who are designated by the Roman numerals. The Old Testament was copied by two hands (I and II) and the New Testament by three (III, IV and V). III wrote Matthew, Mark and I Corinthians 10:8 – Philemon 25; IV copied Luke, John, Acts, the Catholic Epistles, and Romans 1:1 – I Corinthians 10:8; and V wrote the Apocalypse.

Salient Features

Matthew 1:1-25:6 is lost. The longer ending of Mark is given. Luke 22:43 f. is omitted. John 5:4 is present and not marked as doubtful or spurious. There is a lacuna at John 7:53-8:11. The doxology of Romans is found after 14:23 and also after 16:23, 16:24 being omitted. Hebrews follow immediately after II Thessalonians.


British Museum, London, United Kingdom.


[1] W. H. P. Hatch, The Principal Uncial Manuscripts Of The New Testament, 1939, The University of Chicago Press, Chicago, Plate XVII.